HOUSTON AREA CLASSES
Weekend and Weekday!
 
Open Carry goes into effect January 1, 2016
Campus Carry goes into effect August 1,2016 

Want a private class for your group?
   See "Private Classes" page for details.
  
 

HomeLicense to Carry Class CalendarRegistration & DepositsPrivate Classes and LessonsMapsGifts Certificates
 
Logo1jpeg.jpg

TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY CLASSES

 Free ClipartNorthwest Houston  -  $69 *Includes both class and Range fee.

Call or Text - (281)-734-8902   Greg Smith TXDPS#01682212 

opencarry.gif
New Open Carry laws will be discussed. 
 
What is the full cost of a Handgun License?
 
Look at "Licensing Process" in the right column. It's all spelled out. HL classes are all multi-media and in AIR CONDITIONED COMFORT!

The HL classroom session covers all required knowledge in understandable terms. The classes are only $69 weekend/weekday for new applicants, and are always in comfortable meeting rooms at climate-controlled facilities in Northwest Houston. Class start times vary. Check the calendar.

First, go to "CALENDAR" tab to pick a HL class date, then to "REGISTRATION AND DEPOSIT" tab, and follow the instructions.


If you have any questions or suggestions,
...OR CALL ME at 281-734-8902.
You will need 50 rounds of ammo for qualifying. I do have ammo for sale. I will provide a firearm if you need one (limited availability, $10 per session). Qualifying will be easy. 20 rounds at nine feet, 20 rounds at 21 feet and ten rounds at 45 feet. 175 points out of a possible 250 qualifies you.

Take a lesson, watch a match, get involved. You will be glad you did!
 
New Shooter and Safety Courses!
We offer a Basics Course for anyone who has never used a firearm, is not comfortable with one, or just wants to get better. It starts from the basics and really is a lot of fun and good information. These are private lessons about two hours in length. Instructor's fee is $100.00. To request a date convenient for you... Email your request or call me at 281-734-8902, and leave a message.

To pre-pay a lesson, click here to pay.

instructor_logo.jpg
Some of the best prices I have found.
tomballpawn.jpg
Tomball Pawn - Call them!

    WHAT WE WILL COVER IN LTC CLASS
    • Safety
    • The use of retention holsters for open carry
    • Alternatives to using deadly force
    • Statutes applying to carrying handguns
    • The use of force and deadly force
    • Conflict Resolution
    • Guns and Children
    • Situational Awareness / SAFETY
 

Some useful links ...

1) CONTACT GREG

2) MidwayUSA

3) Texas State Rifle Assn

4) TXDPS HL License Bureau on-line

 

THE LICENSING PROCESS

CAll me if you need help. 

Understand that you may take the class either before or after doing the online application. The only restriction is that once you initiate the process, you must complete it within one year.

1. Sign up for a class date and make a class deposit.

2. Go to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TXDPS) web site. Go to HANDGUN LICENSING and follow the links to “new applicant”. You can click this link; https://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/CHL/LicenseRegistration/applInstrInfo.htm

3. Complete the forms and pay your state licensing fee. Remember there are several discounts available for veterans and senior citizens, as well as law enforcement. If you don't have an exemption, the state fee is $145 for the first-time license.

4. Print the receipt they e-mail you for your records. Don't miss this step. If you were born out of the country, click this HERE to see what documents TXDPS accepts.

5. Schedule a fingerprinting appointment. The same link above has a link to the fingerprinting site.
      i. Call the number provided from the site or go on-line and set an appointment with the state contractor. This is $10.
     ii. Do NOT have any photos taken. DPS now uses your driver's license photo.

6. At the successful conclusion of class, you will receive a CHL-100 form needed for the TXDPS. This can be sent via e-mail or regular mail. The directions to do this are on the receipt the TXDPS sends you.

Total outlay is class, state fee, and fingerprinting. Without exemptions, it's $220 ($69 class, $142 state fee, and $10 fingerprinting) for new applicants for the first five years.

 

 If you have questions or suggestions, let me know.